Board + Volunteers


Carolyn Goldstein – Director
An historian of American technology and consumer culture, she coordinates the statewide Mass Memories Road Show program and teaches public history at UMass Boston. She served on the Stone Building Feasibility & Reuse Committee and is a Precinct 2 Town Meeting Member.

Cristina Burwell – Clerk
Cristina and her family have been part of the East Lexington, Waldorf School and Follen Church communities since 1996. Cristina has chaired the Lexington Council for the Arts, and was an editor for the Town Report before her current position as Executive Director for the Munroe Center for the Arts.  She was Clerk of the Stone Building Feasibility & Reuse Committee.

Elizabeth Xu – Director
Elizabeth is a computational chemist, software engineer, freelance writer&editor, and dedicated volunteer. She works passionately to preserve Asian cultural heritage and introduce Western culture to Asian communities. Her focus is to enrich the cultural landscape, making a positive impact on both Asian immigrants and the broader US communities through collaboration and cultural celebration.

Janel Showalter – Vice President
She supports communications and manages web content for a large Federal agency. She became involved in efforts to restore and reimagine the Stone Building through Lexington’s Dismantling Racism in Our Town program.

Kathleen Dalton – Director
A biographer and public historian, she is the author of Theodore Roosevelt: A Strenuous Life (2002). She has worked as a history teacher, a professor, and as a public history consultant with the National Park Service and the Theodore Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum.

Mark Manasas – President
Mark’s background is in building and leading engineering teams developing novel medical devices.
Mark is also on the board of LexFarm and Lexington Zero Waste. He served on the Stone Building Feasibility & Reuse Committee and is a Precinct 2 Town Meeting Member.

Meg Muckenhoupt – Treasurer
She is a writer and editor focusing on New England history and land use. She served as a liaison to the Stone Building Feasibility & Reuse Committee, and is a Precinct 1 Town Meeting Member.

Rosemary Trowbridge – Director
Rosemary served as a national board member of the National Organization for Women. She was part of the lobbying team for the 1989 Massachusetts Gay and Lesbian Civil Rights Bill and was a trainer for MA Dept of Education’s Safe Schools Program for GLBT Students. She serves on the board of The Veteran Feminists of America. She is a member of Follen Church, where she served as president.

Sabine Clark – Director
Sabine became involved with LLA after participating in ‘Dismantling Racism in our Town.’ She co-chairs First Parish Lexington’s Racial Justice Team, and volunteers for events and communications at LexFarm. After a career in software sales and marketing, she spent five years as a co-owner/operator of a small retail shop in Lexington center.  


Anne Grady is an architectural historian specializing in Historic Structure Reports and dendrochronology. She was an author of the 2009 Stone Building Report. Her current research focus is slavery in 18th c. Lexington. She is a member of the Follen Church and has lived in Lexington since 1965. She served on the Stone Building Feasibility & Reuse Committee

Dr. Jeff Howry has worked in real estate finance and historic preservation including historic property inventories, record documentation, and archaeology.  He chaired the Stone Building Feasibility / Reuse Committee, and is leading the effort to nominate the Stone Building as a National Historic Landmark.

Margaret Micholet was a historian for the National Park Service. She served on the Lexington Historical Society’s Slavery Interpretation Advisory Group and wrote the brochure, “Slavery in Colonial Lexington.”  She is currently researching African American enslaved women in Lexington.

Melinda Nasardinov has a background in museums and historic houses. She served on the Stone Building Feasibility & Reuse Committee and has lived in Lexington since 2010.